Wednesday, March 21, 2018

His Risk

About the Book:

An undercover English DEA agent will do anything to protect the Amish girl he loves.
Calvin Fisher left the Amish community at fourteen and never looked back. Only his brother's illness can bring him back to Hart County. Now, as Calvin works to make amends, he meets Alice, a local nursery school teacher, and falls hard for her. But he has a secret that could threaten the happiness he's finally found.
Alice shouldn't like-or want-Calvin. He's English, has a questionable past, and an even more questionable job. Still, she can't help being intrigued. Though Calvin assures Alice that he's worthy of her, she's torn between surrendering to her growing feelings and steering clear of him.
When a sudden surge of criminal activity alarms the community and even targets Alice, Calvin fears that his double life has put everyone he loves at risk. As for Alice, she can't help but wonder if the brave and honorable man she's lost her heart to is far more dangerous than she could ever imagine.
About the Author:

Shelley Shepard Gray is a "New York Times" and "USA Today" bestselling author, a finalist for the American Christian Fiction Writers prestigious Carol Award, and a two-time HOLT Medallion winner. She lives in southern Ohio, where she writes full-time, bakes too much, and can often be found walking her dachshunds on her town's bike trail.
Find out more about Shelley at
Like us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Find us on Pinterest

My Review:
Even though the book is Amish it is more of a suspense. A few Amish characters and some not. I believe that a reader that don’t usually read Amish will enjoy this book. Calvin left the Amish but comes back to help his brother through surgery. Calvin may have dangerous characters following him but the most dangerous one may have nothing to do with him. Alice who is a preschool teacher and Amish becomes friends with Calvin. This is not a romance book, it does deal with friendships and family values. I recommend the book. I received an advanced copy of the book from the publisher and this review is my own opinion. 

Blog Tour Schedule:

chantal | this chattanooga mommy saves
Debra | 3 Partners in shopping, Nana, Mommy, & Sissy, Too!
Molly | Cafinated Reads
Mary | The Mary Book Reader
Lisa | Chickensbunniesandhomeschool/
Margaret | Frugal Shopping and More
Kristina | The Avid Reader
Meagan | Meagan Davenport
vicky | Deal Sharing Aunt
Alex | Inspiration Clothesline
Margaret | The World As I See It
Amy | A Nest in the Rocks
Keri | My Table of Three
Athena | The Loose Screw
Sherry | My Journey Back
Donna | Donna's BookShelf
Erin | For Him and My Family
Angela | A Busy Mom of Two
Cheryl | cherylbbookblog
Lena Nelson | A Christian Writer's World
Dianna | Savings in Seconds
Pamela | Daysong Reflections
Kav | Best Reads (2010-2014)
Jessica | A Baker's Perspective
Nancy | sunny island breezes
Zac | Buy, Borrow, Skip
Carol | Buttercup Counts Her Blessings
Jeremy | Christian Fiction Addiction
Brittany | Britt Reads Fiction
Leslie | Did YOU Hear about the Morgans?
Carrie | Reading Is My SuperPower
Pam | Southern Gal Loves to Read
Rachel | EmpowerMoms
Chastity | Chas Ray's Book Nerd Corner
Sarah | Running Through The Storms
Annie | Just Commonly
Kemi | Homemaking Organized
Deana | Texas Book-aholic
Vickie | Vickie's Kitchen and Garden
Alison | NOVA Frugal Family
Angela | A Holland Reads
Connie | Because I said so -and other adventures in parenting
Lisa | A Rup Life
Terra | Heck Of A Bunch
Kristie | Moments
Tressa | Wishful Endings
Hallie | Book by Book
Britney | Buzzing About Books
Wendy | Wall-to-wall books
Joy | Splashes of Joy
Laura | Lighthouse Academy
Jennifer | Mother of Three
Inderpreet | Eloquent Articulation
Billy | Ramblings of a Coffee Addicted Writer
Lisa | Seeking witth all Yur Heart
Veronica | Veronica's 'Views
Kristin | A Simply Enchanted Life
Kendra | Happily Managing a Household of Boys
Wendy | Life at Rossmont
Rosalyn | All-of-a-kind Mom
Janice | Janices book reviews
Maureen | Maureen's Musings
Stephanie | Have A Wonderful Day
Amy | Locks, Hooks and Books
Patty | tammycookblogsbooks
Barbara | I'm Hooked on Books
Amy | Pause for Tales
Heather | Misadventures of the Dynamic Uno
Cathy | Two Girls and a Book
Dawn | Inventing Insight
Vicky | Vicky Sluiter
Connie | Gccbookworm
Mindy | A Room Without Books is Empty
LeAnne | Rockin' My Mom Jeans
Renee | Little Homeschool on the Prairie
Debi | 2014 and Beyond!
Nick | Two Points of Interest
Jennifer | Jen Around the World
debbie | Debbie's Dusty Deliberations
Bethany | The Perfect beginning
Denise | The Help Meet Wife
brandi | She Revelation Blog
lori | Red Headed Book Lady
Andrea | The Young Girl Who Loved Books
Shondra | Give Me Today

Enter to win a copy of His Risk. Five winners will be chosen! Click the image below to enter to win. The winners will be announced March 28 on the Litfuse blog!


Sunday, March 18, 2018

Soul's Prisoner Blog Tour and Giveaway

About the Book

Book Title: Soul’s Prisoner  
Author: Cara Luecht  
Genre: Historical fiction with some suspense and romance  
Release Date: December 15, 2015  
Chicago, Winter, 1891 Rachel is in danger. She’s seen too much. She creeps along the cement walls through the dank underbelly of the asylum. She’d never planned to leave her quiet farm life, never thought she’d find a place in the city, never imagined she’d be in the kind of danger that would have her cowering in Dunning’s cold, labyrinthine basement. Jenny has finally found her place. After a childhood of abuse, she has friends, a real job, and her only wish is to give her adopted son the kind of life she never had. A life of stability, without the risk and uncertainty of a father. But when Jeremy, Rachel’s brother, stumbles into their warehouse, asking for help to find his missing sister, Jenny’s carefully constructed life begins to crumble.

Click here to purchase your copy!

About the Author

Award winning author, Cara Luecht, lives in Sun Prairie, Wisconsin with her husband, David, and their children. Cara graduated summa cum laude with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater and an M.F.A. in Creative Writing from Fairleigh Dickinson University. Currently, Cara is studying for a Masters of Divinity at Fuller Theological Seminary.

Guest Post from Cara Luecht

The Setting for Soul’s Prisoner: Dunning Asylum for the Insane Dunning Asylum for the Insane was built in the 1850s and housed psychiatric patients until the early 1900s. It has since been demolished, and a small park currently stands as the only remaining testament to the people who lived and died on the grounds. The original plot of land also included a poor farm and a cemetery. A railroad used to connect the grounds to Minneapolis, Chicago, and Milwaukee. It was nicknamed the “Crazy Train”—a phrase that still survives in our language today. Those buried in the cemetery include Civil War Veterans, victims of the Chicago fire of 1871, orphans, paupers, and the residents of the asylum for the insane. Most estimates agree that nearly forty thousand people were buried on the grounds. There is no doubt that mental illness is hard on families, but in the 1800s, having a family member who struggled with mental illness was an embarrassment. With little understanding of mental health in general, and even less compassion for those who suffered, examples of this tragic response to the threat of mental illness can be seen in the numerous inmates who were there simply due to addiction or depression. There are even cases where women were committed because their families were humiliated by their giving birth outside the bonds of marriage. Often times, challenges with mental health were synonymous with the notion of moral failure or vice. Because of this, even many charities looked the other way when corruption or abuse was exposed. Reporters sometimes wrote about the horrors of the institutions, but once the sensational story was out, and the initial outrage worn away, few worried about the people who suffered on a daily basis. And because of the moral implication of mental illness, families commonly turned over their suffering members to the county, and later simply explained to friends that the person had died. And that is exactly what the mentally ill would do in the institution. Live there until they died, forgotten. And that’s how the story played out at Dunning, until late in the 1900s when developers began to dig the roads and foundations for a new neighborhood on the grounds of what was once the Asylum. At that time, Dunning, and the people who had resided there, were still within living memory, so when bones were unearthed, it was no mystery how they ended up on that patch of land. What had slipped from memory was the magnitude of the collective stories of suffering and hardship. For this novel, the people and events are fictitious. However, when examining old news stories from an institution known for corruption, it is not hard to imagine situations like the ones in the novel. The details that are true are the nearly one thousand inmates, no hot water, little to no heat in the winter, bad food, and the general feeling of living ghosts, intentionally forgotten, and doomed to never leave the grounds.

My Review:

The first few chapters were slow but still interesting but really a lot of suspense toward the end of it. Cara knows how to write suspense. This book could be read as a stand alone even though a series. Actually I had not read the first one but the 3rd one first so do recommend reading the books in order if reading the whole series. Jeremy is trying to find his sister Rachel who works at a asylum in the laundry room but ends up getting kidnapped. How is she going to get out of her situation? Love how the characters are woven together. I am hoping there is a book three in the series. I received an complementary copy of the book from Celebrate Lit and the review is my own opinion. 

                          Blog Stops


To celebrate her tour, Cara is giving away a grand prize of a signed copy of Soul’s Prisoner and sketching art supplies!!
Click below to enter. Be sure to comment on this post before you enter to claim 9 extra entries!

Wednesday, March 14, 2018

Heart"s Desire/The sweetest Heart Blog Tour

On Tour with Prism Book Tours

***Premiering as Sweetest Heart on the Hallmark Chanel 9 PM ET***
(check your local listings for your air time)

Heart's Desire
(Shores of Indian Lake #2)
Catherine Lanigan
Contemporary Romance
Paperback & ebook, 191 pages
August 1st 2014 by Harlequin Heartwarming
GoodreadsAmazonBarnes & NobleHarlequin

His homecoming is bittersweet…for both of them

Café owner Maddie Strong is finally ready to take her burgeoning cupcake business to the next level. With the help of handsome businessman Alex Perkins, her future's all mapped out. Until her first love comes home.

At seventeen, Maddie adored Nate Barzonni with her whole heart and soul. But when he asked her to elope, she'd said no—she couldn't let him throw away his dream of becoming a doctor. Then he vanished from her life for eleven years. Now the cardiac surgeon has returned to Indian Lake asking for a second chance, and Maddie has to choose between her new life…and the man she never stopped loving.

Other Books in the Series

About the Author

Catherine Lanigan is the international bestselling and award-winning author of over forty-five published titles in both fiction and non-fiction, including the novelizations of Romancing the Stone and The Jewel of the Nile. Ms. Lanigan’s novels have been translated into over twenty-four languages. Lanigan was tasked by the NotMYkid foundation to pen a collection of compelling and informative true stories of teen addicts. Ms. Lanigan’s SHORES OF INDIAN LAKE series for HARLEQUIN HEARTWARMING includes LOVE SHADOWS, HEART’S DESIRE , A FINE YEAR FOR LOVE, KATIA’S PROMISE, FEAR OF FALLING, SOPHIE’S PATH, PROTECTING THE SINGLE MOM, FAMILY OF HIS OWN, HIS BABY DILEMMA, TOO CLOSE TO THE FIRE (2018) and MY RACING HEART (2019).

The Hallmark Channel will air HEART’S DESIRE on March 17, 2018.

Ms. Lanigan is a frequent speaker at literary functions and book conventions as well as inspiring audiences with her real stories of angelic intervention from her Angel Tales series of books. She is an outspoken advocate for domestic violence and abuse and was honored by The National Domestic Violence Hotline in Washington, D.C. She has been a guest on numerous radio programs including “Coast to Coast” and on television interview and talk show programs as well as blogs, podcasts and online radio interview programs. She writes a monthly blog for Visit her at, on Facebook, LinkedIn,, Pinterest, Goodreads and Google+.


Myy Review: 

Love the story of Maddie and Nate. I am looking forward to seeing the movie of it. Nate left her eleven years ago and comes back to town to work at the local hospital. I loved that he was a surgeon. He wants to work at the Indian reservation once there is an opening. Maddie had a coffee shop with bake goods, sounded so good. Will they be able to get back together? Also I lot of other great characters in the book. I loved the name of one. I received an complementary copy of the book from Prism book tours. 

Tour Schedule
Tour Giveaway


1 winner will receive a $50 Amazon eGift Card
Open internationally
Ends March

Grab Our Button!

Tuesday, March 13, 2018

Fine Print Blog tour

About the Book

Meddlin’ Madeline Fine Print Author: Chautona Havig Genre: Historical, Mystery Release Date: February 20, 2018 Budding detective, Miss Madeline Brown, has gained quite the reputation for “meddling” in the circa 1900 city of Rockland. With two successful “cases” under her belt, it was only a matter of time before she found something new to interest her insatiable curiosity. This time, however, the “curiosity” found her. Challenged by Edward Gastrel, to prove her deductive prowess, Madeline embarks on riddling out the puzzle of a journal left to him by his grandfather. If she can decode the contents, the local gentleman may find himself in the possession of something quite valuable. As usual, however, things aren’t as they seem, and Madeline finds herself in a race against more than time and ambiguity.

Click here to purchase your copy!

 About the Author:

Chautona Havig lives and writes in California’s Mojave Desert where she uses story to point readers to the Master Storyteller.

Guest Post from Chautona

Denny’s. “America’s Diner.” It’s also my “office away from my office away from home.” Most nights I write at our local prayer house. But on Wednesday nights for a few hours, and then all night on Saturday, I sit in booth 14 and write. It was a cold, frosty Wednesday night. With thoughts from Bible Study still swirling in my mind and heart, I ordered my loaded baked potato soup and began brainstorming with my writing and podcasting buddy, April. She left around midnightish—as usual. And another evening regular began chatting. Look. I like this guy. He’s a fascinating conversationalist. We have a lot of fun talking books, movies, politics, history, computers… He’s even given me a great idea for a book (without meaning to, but still). But… that night, I needed to get a bunch done on Madeline and didn’t have time for chatting. So, when he started talking about his evening, I wanted to bang my head on the table. I kept repeating, “People are more important. People are more important. People are more important,” over and over in my head. I can’t tell you how often this has happened at Denny’s. Employees stop to chat. Regular diners stop to chat. This guy starts a long conversation and always on nights I can’t afford to spend… chatting! But everything shifted in an instant. The man said something—what, I can’t remember—and my brain started churning. I asked a question. He answered. The next thing I knew, he’d moved into my booth and began firing questions at me. Suggestions. Most of what he suggested wouldn’t work with the story, but he had no way of knowing that. Still, every time he did I got a new idea. And I’d ask a question. He’d answer, suggest. I’d counter—ask or answer. Ideas blossomed and exploded into seeds of even more ideas. And right there, at two o’clock in the morning, with Angela the wonder server keeping me in fresh glasses of Coke, Fine Print went from not only my favorite of the Madelines (thus far) but also became much more exciting. The whole thing taught me a couple of lessons. First, I always say that people are more important than the “stuff” I do. Sometimes, that’s not so easy to live. But the Lord is always faithful, like He did that night, to remind me that it sometimes helps me, too. Second, sometimes a mid-book brainstorming session is just what I need to keep my excitement high. And, if that means a “wasted” Wednesday night in booth 14, then I’d say it’s worth it.

                              Blog Stops

Bigreadersite, March 7
Pause for Tales, March 8
Multifarious, March 9
A Greater Yes, March 11
Lots of Helpers, March 12
Carpe Diem, March 14
Mary Hake, March 16
Simple Harvest Reads, March 17 (Guest post from Mindy)
Among the Reads, March 17
Pursuing Stacie, March 18


To celebrate her tour, Chautona is giving away a grand prize package worth over $50 that includes an antique journal, Pilot fountain pen (gold), Pilot refill cartridges, and a print copy of Fine Print!!

Monday, March 12, 2018

The Essence of Joy Blog Tour and Giveaway

About the Book

Book Title: The Essence of Joy  
Author: Lynn U. Watson  
Release Date: October 12, 2017  
Genre: Women’s Devotional; Women’s Inspiration; Christmas/Advent Devotional
It’s Christmas in March!
The scents of Christmas invite our imaginations into the holiday season. What emotions flood your heart when the holiday aromas waft your way? Did you know:
  • Many favorite holiday scents like cinnamon, citrus, and cinnamon are found in the Bible?
  • There is a rich heart connection attached to many of the plant essences found in Scripture?
  • Myrrh is such an important essence, we can follow its trail from Genesis to Revelation with many significant stops along the way?
  • Women of the Bible have personal encounters with God bringing aromas of His love and joy into their lives?
  • Palm branches are an important part of Biblical celebrations beginning in Genesis and ending in the ultimate beach party around the Crystal Sea? (Christmas at the beach, anyone?)
In The Essence of Joy you’ll meet women of the Bible and contemporary women like you and me who will encourage you to discover the refreshing essence of a life lived in the presence of Jesus. Let JOY fill your heart with the aromas of His nativity.

Watch the book trailer here!

Click here to get your copy!

About the Author

Lynn Watson combines many years’ experience in women’s ministry, love of essential oils, and her passion for God’s word to bring her readers freshly inspired encouragement for their walk with Jesus. Her devotional, The Essence of Courage, was recognized as a ‘must read’ by regional publishing industry leaders. Married since 1973, Lynn and Steve have filled their Bartlett, Tennessee home with handmade treasures and lots of love for family, especially their five beautiful (of course) grandchildren. Aromas of freshly baked bread often fill Lynn’s kitchen. Jasmine, her tuxedo kitty, enjoys sleeping in Lynn’s lap while she writes.

Guest Post from Lynn Watson

A walk down memory lane on a snowy day (today) transported my thoughts to a Christmas shop our children and I visited every year. Open only for the holiday season, rich aromas reached out and drew you into this wonderland. The owners filled the space with unique treasures. A few we chose years ago remain prized member of my Christmas favorites close to four decades later. My debut encounter with essential oils came many years later. I loved their aromas (including many of those Christmas scents) and studied their aromatic influences and potential benefits. Bible verses jumped to life in new ways. God created all plants and inspired the Biblical authors to include many. The desire to share my discoveries burned in my heart, until God finally released me to publish The Essence of Courage in December 2016. Before I completed the devotional based on Solomon’s locked garden in Song of Solomon 4:12-15, God reminded me just how many aromas and tastes of the Christmas season are found in the pages of His word, too. Cinnamon, cedarwood, mint, citrus, myrrh, frankincense, rose, and figs are found in the pages of Scripture. So, are palms. They may not appear Christmasy unless you favor a tropical holiday, but they are an integral part of celebration in the Bible. The Essence of Joy offers discoveries of connections of all this plant life to Jesus’ nativity. Looking back a dozen years to my first not-quite-inspired imaginings of a devotional book with aromatic offerings, I’m grateful God chose different timing. He presented me an unusual format for the collection. — one of those things easier experienced than explained. Contemporary women’s very real stories (fictionalized and often combined to create anonymity), stories from very real women living on the pages of Scripture, and a focused look at the botanical and its aromas, flavors, and essences as found in the Bible, are topped off with icing on the cake: ‘Fun Facts” and ‘Your Turn’ to invite the reader to more than read – to participate. In The Essence of Joy you’ll encounter Scriptures in ways you had not considered before. Your faith will be enriched and stretched as you relate to the ancient women of the Bible and those that may be your next door neighbor today. You’ll be encouraged to breathe in the aromas of Jesus’ nativity, sample goodies from The Coffee Cottage’s specials of the day, and tune in to musical selections welcoming you into a posture of worship. I’m praying you are filled with His joy! NOTE: Cinnamah-Brosia, the owner of The Coffee Cottage in the fictional stories asks readers at the very beginning of the book to be sure to read the introductory material. It helps set the stage for the book’s character and personality.

My Review: 

The book gives history about of different scents, like peppermint for example, that was one thing I found interesting about it. The book would make a good study guide for a Bible class. a lot of references to different verses in the Bible and it encourages to read the Bible. Has some good stories, one I really like was the part about God’s protection. Enjoyed the story about Trevor and how circumstances had him drive a different route that save his life. It is not the kind of book I usually read but did find it interesting and I could tell the author put a lot of work and research into it. I received an complementary copy of the book from the author through Celebrate Lit. 

                              Blog Stops

Multifarious, March 3
Carpe Diem, March 4
Mary Hake, March 6
Bigreadersite, March 7
Reading is my Super Power, March 9 (Interview)
A Greater Yes, March 11
Pursuing Stacie, March 13
Simple Harvest Reads, March 15 (Guest post from Mindy)
margaret kazmierczak, March 15 (Interview)
Pause for Tales, March 16


To celebrate her tour, Lynn is giving away a grand prize of a “Choose Joy” hand made necklace, a “Cups of Joy” (adult coloring book) + set of 24 prismacolor colored pencils, a “Choose Joy Today” stamped silver-plated teaspoon, flower Seeds, raspberry tea (it’s in the Cinnamah-Brosia story in the “Mint/Giving” section), a “Choose Joy” tote bag, and a signed copy of “The Essence of Joy”!!

Click below to enter. Be sure to comment on this post before you enter to claim 9 extra entries!

His Risk

About the Book: An undercover English DEA agent will do anything to protect the Amish girl he loves. Calvin Fisher ...