Saturday, June 23, 2018

Points Worth Blog Tour and Giveaway


About the Book



Title: Points Worth  
Author: D.C. Marino  
Genre: Fantasy  
Release Date: March 30 For centuries the small port town of Points Worth has been able to communicate with the ocean in its own language. But the water has just gone silent and its last word has shaken those able to translate it. A knowledge of sea-script won’t be enough to mend the broken relationship between man and the deep. Gil, a young nautical linguist, will have to break rules and search the past to discover why the ocean ceased its tides—or had them stolen. Points Worth is a novelette set in the world of Kingdom of Ruins, and is a prequel to the first book in the series.



Click here to purchase your copy!

About the Author



D.C. Marino is a dedicated reader of history books and fantasy novels, both of which occupy an equal amount of space on her bookshelves. But it wasn’t until she realized how one breathed life into the other that she became addicted to finding the intersections of the real world and the fairy story. Still more: what those intersections about us as a creative, curious people. Kingdom of Ruins is her debut novel.

Guest post from D.C. Marino

Hi Everyone! I’m so excited to celebrate the release of Points Worth with you! To start, I’ll share a funny secret: this little novelette was never in the plan. The idea came at the last moment, at the suggestion of my publisher. I had never intended to write a prequel to the Kingdom of Ruins series, but when I began fleshing out this small story, it took on a personality I couldn’t ignore. Not only did I fall in love with the sea-salt setting and gutsy characters, but Points Worth is now planned to continue as a mini-series of novellas, each one to be released between the full-length novels!

 Gil, the main character and hero, is who I blame for the speed of my commitment to this storyline. He inspires me. Calamity has befallen his small port town and fear is driving even the wisest of the townsfolk to make dangerous decisions. Instead of swallowing the easiest explanation for the disaster, Gil goes in search of the truth against one of the most powerful men in the town. He’s scrappy, inventive and knows his history. Though born in the hills, he’s a natural seafarer. I wanted to keep following him right off the page. And so, his story has only just begun to sail the unknown ocean.

 On the flip side, the Kingdom of Ruins series takes place on land. But this isn’t a default setting. The land is a character in itself and interacts with those that live upon its soil. It even takes sides in war. This same concept was extended to the sea in Points Worth. Which is appropriate, as they are part of the same world. In fact, the town of Points Worth is only a few days’ ride away from where the main novel takes place. Which leads me to the last thing I wanted to share with you. Gil will show up as a supporting character in one of the main novels. I love this because, though the reader will know Gil very well, the main characters in Kingdom of Ruins will not. You’ll suddenly see Gil from another’s perspective, which should be interesting and sometimes comical.

 I will say no more. Land and sea must tell the rest of the story. Thank you for coming! I hope you enjoy the ocean-air and the adventure it inspires! D.C. Marino


My Review:

The book left me wondering when the next book comes out. This is a novella that comes before book one. Gil watches over the ocean and studies it. There is men at sea to save but can they? Gil is a special guy, and caring person. This is a fantasy genre and not the kind I usually read so I had a time getting into it but once I did then it ended. It does seem like it will be a good series and this is an excellent start to it. I received an complementary copy of the book from the author and Celebrate Lit. I was not required to post an positive review, this is my own opinion. 



Blog Stops


Giveaway



To celebrate the tour, Celebrate Lit is giving away a grand prize of a $25 Amazon gift card!!
Click below to enter. Be sure to comment on this post before you enter to claim 9 extra entries!
https://promosimple.com/ps/cece/points-worth-celebration-tour-giveaway

Saturday, June 16, 2018

The Wilderness Journey blog tour and giveaway


About the Book



Title: The Wilderness Journey  
Author: Misty M. Beller  
Release Date: April 24, 2018  
Genre: Christian Historical Romance  


He’s been sent to retrieve the new missionary… But she’s not at all who he expects to find.

Joseph Malcom has spent his life protecting those in need, but now that his sister is safely settled with her new family in the Canadian Rockies, his help is no longer required. That is, until he’s asked to safely retrieve the priest’s cousin to help minister to the local Indian tribe. But his passenger is not at all who he expects.

 After the death of her mother, Monti Bergeron has nothing to keep her in Montreal. While the prospect of ministering to the Indians out West is daunting, she looks forward to assisting her beloved cousin in his mission work. The life of a nun may be just what she needs to heal her grief, serving her Heavenly Father and fellow mankind, especially if no more pesky suitors are around to ask for her hand in marriage. But the man who’s been sent to guide her through the mountains might make her second-guess her plans before she even begins.

 As Monti settles into her ministry, Joseph finds his wandering feet drawn back to the Indian camp. Monti’s focus on God is more unsettling than he’d like to admit. Add to that her beauty which tests his willpower at every turn, and she’s made it crystal clear she doesn’t want a husband. But when his determination to keep distance between them puts Monti in danger, protecting her might require something Joseph might not be able to give.



Click here to purchase your copy.


About the Author


Misty M. Beller writes romantic mountain stories, set on the 1800s frontier and woven with the truth of God’s love.

 She was raised on a farm in South Carolina, so her Southern roots run deep. Growing up, her family was close, and they continue to keep that priority today. Her husband and daughters now add another dimension to her life, keeping her both grounded and crazy.

 God has placed a desire in Misty’s heart to combine her love for Christian fiction and the simpler ranch life, writing historical novels that display God’s abundant love through the twists and turns in the lives of her characters.

Guest Post from Misty Beller



The Frontier Cook

 I love to write frontier romance, where the challenges were tough and the people had to be even tougher. And one of the things I love to imagine is how my characters cooked during those days.

 Can you imagine how hard it would be to cook over an open fire? Every. Single. Meal. Of course, it’s not like they had a lot of variety to work with. Once you learned how to make a decent stew or corn mush, you didn’t have much to worry about, right?

 Yet, many of the frontier women became quite adept at cooking over their cabin’s hearth, or even over an open campfire. In my new book, This Wilderness Journey, Monti (the heroine) came from a middle-class home with a paid chef and never had to learn to cook at all, much less without the use of a wood stove (which is still so much harder than heating a hot-pocket in the microwave). After she burned the corn mush their first night on the trail through the Canadian wilderness, Joseph (the hero) taught her a few basic meals.

 As I was researching some creative ways frontier women cooked in an open hearth, I discovered the wide use of puddings, mostly because of how easy they were to make. By wrapping the ingredients in a cloth or pudding bag, they could be dropped in a pot of boiling water and left until the ingredients had softened and expanded. An entire meal could be made with a few ingredients, a pudding cloth, and a pot of boiling water.

 One of my favorite cooking scenes in This Wilderness Journey is the making of the Oatmeal Pudding. What do you think? Sound like something you’d like to try?




My Review:

Joseph is asked to guide Monti through the wilderness to her cousin to help with his mission work with the Indians. Set in the 1800’s where there is a lot of unsettle land. Only can go on horseback. Joseph is surprised to find out she is a girl. I really loved the part of Monti where she cared for and like to study health issues. Enjoyed having Joseph sister from the first book in the story and her family. Definitely added a lot to the story. I would love to see another book with more of the mission involvement with the Indians. I received an complementary copy of the book from Celebrate Lit. I was not required to write an positive review and these opinions are my own. 


Blog Stops

Mary Hake, June 10
Splashes of Joy, June 10
Kathleen Denly, June 11
Mommynificent, June 13
Pause for Tales, June 15
Carpe Diem, June 18
Bigreadersite, June 20

Giveaway



To celebrate her tour, Misty is giving away a $50 Amazon gift card!!
Click below to enter. Be sure to comment on this post before you enter to claim 9 extra entries! Link for giveaway: https://promosimple.com/ps/cd16/this-wilderness-journey-celebration-tour-giveaway

Wednesday, June 6, 2018

I am my Beloved Blog tour and giveaway


About the Book



Title: I Am My Beloved  
Author: Caryl McAdoo  
Genre: Biblical Fiction
Release Date: April, 2018

The wisdom of this world is foolishness to God. How could the wisest man ever to live turn away from following God? The key is in Ecclesiastes and the Song of Songs that King Solomon wrote after his return to the Lord. Who was the Shulamite? And why did he call her his sister spouse? Only God knows all the answers, but the King Solomon left clues. You will never forget reading this anointed story of love and may find yourself setting it down to wipe tears away or simply worship the great I AM.
Click here to purchase your copy!

About the Author



Caryl McAdoo prays her story brings God glory, and a quick scroll through her novels’ rankings by Christian readers attests to the Father’s faithfulness. She loves writing almost as much as singing the new songs He gives her—look her up on YouTube to hear a few. Her high school sweetheart husband won her heart fifty-two years ago, and now they share four children and seventeen grandsugars. Ron and Caryl live in the woods south of Clarksville, seat of Red River County in far Northeast Texas, waiting expectantly for God to open the next door.



Guest Post from Caryl McAdoo

I AM My Beloved is a story unlike any I’ve ever written in that it moved me so. Not saying all my stories don’t move me, they do—to tears and laughter. Just today I got all teary writing a scene in my WIP for next September. But I AM My Beloved moved me to worship.

I literally would stop typing, bask in God’s presence, and worship. I believe that it is anointed and of course, as always, pray it will give God glory. I pray that His children will be blessed and drawn closer to the Father reading it. It’s a romance, yes, but nothing like any proverbial historical romances you’ve ever read.

 It’s the story of Abishag. Have you ever heard of her? Her name is mentioned only five times in the Bible, all in 1Kings. “So they sought for a fair damsel throughout all the coasts of Israel, and found Abishag a Shunammite, and brought her to the king.” Kings 1:3 They brought her to King David. To keep him warm during his dying days.

 Scripture tells us the she cherished David, and also that he never knew her—his virgin queen. You’ll love her heart, creativity, attitudes, intelligence, and spirit of submission. It’s like all God’s beloved daughters can identify with her. Writing her story was akin to writing a love letter to Jesus. So often, it was Him and me, not these characters of olden days brought to life in I AM My Beloved.

 This love story of what happens to Abishag after David’s death when Solomon, heir to the Throne becomes King of Israel. And perhaps, you’ll get a whole new take on the wisest man ever to live, as he takes on building the Temple of God, foreign wives, follows after their gods, then returns to serve the One True God and write Ecclesiastes and the Song of Solomon.

 At its end, is a section I call “Search the Scriptures” that point out and explain the clues that led to its writing. I hope you’ll enjoy it!


My Review:

I don’t read much of biblical fiction so it is much different for me. I would think it would be interesting to research to write it. I loved the section in the back called Search the Scriptures, interesting to read how different characters came about. I felt bad for Abishag, she seemed so lonely at times, Solomon was a very interesting character. I really enjoyed the young boy in one part of the book. For people that really like biblical fiction will find they will love the book. I was blessed by it. I received an complementary copy of the book from Celebrate Lit.



Blog Stops

Giveaway



To celebrate her tour, Caryl is giving away
GRAND PRIZE : $50 Amazon Gift Card 1st Prize: TWO novels–Choice-of-Caryl’s Titles (print or ebook) 2nd-4th: (three winners) ebook of I AM My Beloved 5th-7th: print copy VOW UNBROKEN!!
Click below to enter. Be sure to comment on this post before you enter to claim 9 extra entries!
 https://promosimple.com/ps/ceba/i-am-my-beloved-celebration-tour-giveaway

Saturday, June 2, 2018

Joey Blog tour and giveaway


About the Book



Title: Joey  
Author: Jennifer Marshall Bleakley  
Genre: Inspirational, Memoir  
Release Date: May 8, 2018  
The heartwarming true story of a blind horse named Joey. At the height of his show career, this beautiful Appaloosa’s majestic stature, strength, and willingness to work made him the perfect partner. But when an injury cost Joey his show career, he moved from one owner to the next, ultimately experiencing severe abuse and neglect. A rescue group found Joey nearly dead from starvation—and blind. Then he came to Hope Reins—a ranch dedicated to helping hurting kids who had been abused, emotionally wounded, or unwanted. By teaching these children to care for rescued animals, the Hope Reins staff were convinced they could reach kids with love and hope and show them that we are never forgotten by God. But could the financially struggling ranch afford to take care of a blind horse that no one else wanted? Could Joey somehow learn to trust people even though the world had hurt him so badly? And what would happen—to Joey, the kids, and Hope Reins—if they failed? A true story of friendship destined to become a classic, Joey will touch your heart and reveal the power of finding light in the darkness.

Click here to purchase your copy.

More Information About This Book

  • When a blind horse named Joey meets a struggling ranch owner dedicated to helping troubled kids, the result is a story of friendship, faith, and overcoming–and ultimately, a tale of how God always cares for the cast aside and uses them for His glory.
  • Joey is an inspirational memoir-like read that delights readers with a story about finding healing and restoration in the unlikeliest of places.
  • What a blind horse can teach you about overcoming your past and living fully in the life God has called you to have.
  • An unlikely story of God using a blind horse to bring healing and restoration to hurting children.
  • A percentage of the author’s proceeds from her book, Joey, will go to supporting Hope Reins which pairs hurting kids with rescued horses.
  • God said “you’re worthy” when the world said “you’re worthless.” Joey, an inspiriting story of finding healing and restoration in the unlikeliest of places.
  • The Hope Reins ranch set out to save these horses, but in the end, the horses saved them.
  • How the story of Joey saved the ranch… and taught the most valuable lesson.
  • Joey… your family’s next read
  • Let God wake you up to life lessons learned in unexpected places!

About the Author



Jennifer Bleakley graduated from Florida Southern College with a degree in biology and was planning to apply for medical school when her best friend’s father died of pancreatic cancer. Walking through that experience with a family she had loved for so long left a permanent mark on her heart, and she soon realized that God was calling her to stand alongside other families facing similar heartbreak and loss. Jennifer earned a master’s degree in counseling from Nova Southeastern University and began working at the local hospice in St. Petersburg, Florida, as a child and family grief counselor. It was a job she loved deeply and one she continued doing until she and her husband started a family. When her husband’s job required the family to relocate to Raleigh, North Carolina, God began awakening in Jennifer a long-forgotten passion for writing. She began journaling—recording evidences of God’s hand at work in her new season of motherhood. Her journal morphed into a blog, and she still writes regularly about glimpsing God’s grace in her daily life at jenniferbleakley.com. Jennifer now writes curriculum and devotionals for her local church, is a contributing author for Treasuring Christ curriculum and She Believes online Bible studies, and leads a community women’s Bible study. She loves introducing children at her church and in the community to Jesus, helping them discover his goodness. Even though she once asserted she was much too introverted to be a public speaker, Jennifer has found that God’s grace is big enough even for lifelong introverts, and she now delights in speaking to audiences about his extraordinary grace at work in our ordinary lives.

Guest Post from Jennifer Bleakley

One October evening I stared into the eyes of the most unusual looking horse I had ever seen—his black and white spotted coat resembled that of a Dalmatian; his soft pink lips were chewing at some invisible morsel; and his charcoal eyes seemed to peer into my very soul.

 And although I’m not what anyone would describe as a horse person, I was completely captivated by this horse.

 I inched closer to him, compelled forward by some unseen force, until only a thin rail separated us. He stared at me. I smiled. Can a horse register a human smile? I had no idea, but I smiled anyway. The founder of the horse ranch was telling our small group about the ministry she had started—a ministry that pairs rescued horses with hurting children to help them find true hope and real healing. I listened to her words, but my eyes never moved from the horse. He looked at me as if he could read my every thought. As if he knew exactly why I was at the ranch that night. That I had been feeling a bit lost, struggling to find myself—my calling—in the midst of a new season of life. That I was on this tour in the hopes that I might find answers here—maybe even a purpose.

 He bent his head toward the railing just inches from my resting hand. His eyes now level with my own, the setting sun reflecting brilliant hues in the depths of his eyes.

  How beautiful, I whispered as my fingers reached toward him.

 “And our Joey here is completely blind…” I heard the woman say. “He was a former champion…injured…sold…abused…abandoned….

 The fragmented sentence floated around the picturesque scene, but the words just didn’t make sense. Surely the woman wasn’t talking about this horse? Not the one who could see into my soul. Not the black and white beauty who knew all my secrets with just one look?

 The woman handed Joey a carrot. His greedy lips taking the treat from her hand, leaving it free to scratch him behind the ear.

 “But Joey was rescued and now he lives here,” she continued, “Where every day his determination and blind faith, point hurting kids to hope. Kids who have also known abuse and abandonment. Kids who see Joey choosing to live, choosing to learn, choosing to trust, and realize that maybe, just maybe they can too.”

 Tears flowed down my face as I watched the horse nuzzle the woman’s hand. A blind horse leading people to see hope. The phrase swirled around my mind, before settling in my heart.

 I had gone to the ranch that day looking for a purpose. Thinking that I could volunteer—use my long forgotten counseling degree in some way. Thinking that time spent here would ease the transition from full-time mommy to mother of school-age children. However, days after meeting the horse his eyes still haunted me. His story still captivated me. And so in spite of knowing very little about horses, and having never attempted anything like writing a book before, I sat down to write about a horse named Joey. A blind horse who was helping me find my way home….


My Review:


A very inspiring story about a horse named Joey that was blind. He came to stay at Hope Reins that is a ranch to help children and horses alike. Kim took in horses that were mistreated and in exchange they did so much for the children and the workers at the ranch. It was so refreshing to read a book like this, I love stories about animals and I really learned a lot about horses in this book. The relationship between the horses themselves and relationships the horses has with humans. I have never gotten to be around horses much but really enjoyed reading Joey story. Such an inspiration. I was fortunate to receive an complementary copy of the book from Celebrate Lit. 


Blog Stops

Giveaway



To celebrate her tour, Jennifer is giving away a grand prize of a beautiful hope necklace!!
Click below to enter. Be sure to comment on this post before you enter to claim 9 extra entries!
 https://promosimple.com/ps/cca4

Friday, June 1, 2018

Highlands Blog tour and giveaway


About the Book



Title: Highlands
Author: Chautona Havig  
Genre: Contemporary Fantasy  
Release Date: October, 2015  

Introspection–this place invites it. I’ve never allowed myself the time to pause and get to know myself. My father taught me it was weak. Focus on the prize–eyes off yourself. The goal matters. You are just the instrument to get you there. Here… Is this what that goal was and I never knew it? The peaks above, the trees that stand tall beside me as if my own personal bodyguards. I am alive–maybe for the first time in my life–and I think it’s because I’m dead.  

A Journey of Dreams
Welcome to a new world: the world of Highlands. When Tony Frazier arrives in Highlands, he must come to grips with a world that embraces birth defects as beautiful and to be celebrated–even those easily corrected. Balancing the beauty of utter acceptance and the wisdom of when to alter the “workmanship of God” creates tension between Tony and the Highlanders. The Journey of Dreams series explores themes in the Christian life from a different perspective–from a world that can’t exist anywhere but in the dreams of the people who live there.
Click here to purchase your copy!

About the Author



The author of dozens of books in a variety of genres, Chautona Havig lives and writes in California’s Mojave Desert where she uses story to nudge her readers to the feet of the Master Storyteller.

Guest Video From Chautona Havig









 My Review:

Tony ends up in Highlands but doesn’t know how or why. He meets Bryn first, he doesn’t have any family there and always wonders about them. The Highlands is so different from where he came from Los Angeles. Love how he teaches them things about his lifestyle and his belief. Some they really love trying out, like the different sports. Tony was an swimmer who wanted to complete in the Olympics. Tony was lost from his home and past but he made a new home . The book kept me interested through out, a lot of interesting characters. It did seem like a long book but had a lot of fun characters that kept me entertained. I received an complementary copy of the book from Celebrate Lit. 



Blog Stops

Giveaway



To celebrate her tour, Chautona has put together a fun giveaway!
Grand Prize: I picture cool mornings in the mountains of Highlands. So, I’ve put together an early morning reading package for our grand prize winner. Even if it’s July, just crank up the AC, grab a lightweight throw (a scarf would even work!), brew up a cup of this delicious tea, and see what happened to Jessa (Prairie) and Tony (Highlands) when they woke up having received the desires of their hearts directly from the Lord in these contemporary fantasy novels. Happy reading! Over a $50 value including: Fearfully & Wonderfully Made Mug from Etsy Tin of Tea Paperbacks of the first 2 books in the Journey of Dreams Series!!
Click below to enter. Be sure to comment on this post before you enter to claim 9 extra entries!
https://promosimple.com/ps/cebc/highlands-celebration-tour-giveaway

Thursday, May 31, 2018

Red Sky over America blog tour and giveaway






About the Book





Title: Red Sky over America  
Author: Tamera Lynn Kraft  
Genre: Christian Historical Romance  
Release Date: February 11, 2018

In 1857, America, the daughter of a slave owner, is an abolitionist and a student at Oberlin College, a school known for its radical ideas. America goes home to Kentucky during school break to confront her father about freeing his slaves. America’s classmate, William, goes to Kentucky to preach abolition to churches that condone slavery. America and William find themselves in the center of the approaching storm sweeping the nation and may not make it home to Ohio or live through the struggle.
Click here to purchase your copy!

About the Author



Tamera Lynn Kraft has always loved adventures. She loves to write historical fiction set in the United States because there are so many stories in American history. There are strong elements of faith, romance, suspense and adventure in her stories. She has received 2nd place in the NOCW contest, 3rd place TARA writer’s contest, and is a finalist in the Frasier Writing Contest and has other novellas in print. She’s been married for 39 years to the love of her life, Rick, and has two married adult children and two grandchildren. Tamera has been a children’s pastor for over 20 years. She is the leader of a ministry called Revival Fire For Kids where she mentors other children’s leaders, teaches workshops, and is a children’s ministry consultant and children’s evangelist and has written children’s church curriculum. She is a recipient of the 2007 National Children’s Leaders Association Shepherd’s Cup for lifetime achievement in children’s ministry.


Guest posts from Tamera Lynn Kraft

100 Steps to Freedom by Tamera Lynn Kraft Before the Civil War, Ohio had the largest Underground Railroad of any state in the Union. It is believed that every county in Ohio had a route. Many slaves would escape over the Ohio River and through Ohio on their way to Canada. This was a dangerous undertaking because, even though Ohio was a free state, the Fugitive Slave Law made it so anyone helping escaped slaves could be fined and jailed.

 One small town, Ripley, Ohio, is believed to have helped more slaves escape than any town in Ohio. Ripley is located on the banks of the Ohio River across from Mason County, Kentucky.

 One man who helped slaves escape was a freed black man named John Parker. Parker was educated by his master in Virginia and eventually bought his freedom. He traveled to Ohio and opened a foundry on Front Street facing the Ohio River. He was the first black man to earn a patent for one of the inventions he used in his foundry. At night, he would search the Ohio River looking for escaped slaves and helping them find their way to an Underground Railroad Station.

 Rev. John Rankin, a Presbyterian minister, owned a house on top of a hill in Ripley. He built one hundred steps to the house that could be seen on the other side of the river. At night, he would light a lantern and hang it from the porch to signal slaves that it was safe to cross. It is estimated that over 2,000 slaves escaped through the Rankin House. None of them were ever recaptured. Harriet Beecher Stowe wrote her famous novel, Uncle Tom’s Cabin, about the escape of the slave, Eliza, after hearing the story from Rev. Rankin.

 Rev. John Rankin’s house is in my novel, Red Sky Over America. John Parker also is introduced as a minor character. The story takes place on the Ohio River in Kentucky across from Ripley where all these exciting events happened.

  Oberlin College: A School Ahead of Its Time

 My current novel series, Ladies of Oberlin, is about 3 women roommates who graduated from one of the most amazing colleges in American history, Oberlin College. Book 1, Red Sky Over America focuses on America, a woman attending Oberlin who is an abolitionist studying to become a missionary. The problem is her father is a slave owner. Here’s a little bit about this amazing college.


 Oberlin College, founded in 1833 in Northern Ohio, was a college ahead of its time in many ways. In 1835, it became the first college in the United States to regularly admit African Americans. It’s also the oldest co-educational college in the US. In 1837, it admitted four women, three of whom graduated and earned a college degree. Mary Jane Patterson, another Obeberlin graduate, became the first African American woman in 1862 to earn a Bachelor of Arts college degree.

 One of Oberlin’s founders once bragged that “Oberlin is peculiar in that which is good”. Oberlin was peculiar in many ways in advancing the causes of the time. Charles Finney, the second president of the college, helped it earn its controversial reputation. He was the fiery evangelist of the Second Great Awakening, a Christian revivalist movement in the early and mid 1800s.

 Oberlin College was the hotbed of abolitionist activity and a stop for the Underground Railroad before the Civil War. It was once called “the town that started the Civil War” because of its participation in the Oberlin Wellington Rescue in 1858. Slave catchers came to Oberlin to capture an escaped slave and return him to Kentucky. Most of the town came to the slave’s aid and rescued him. For their trouble, over twenty were arrested and put on trial for violating the Fugitive Slave Act. During the raid on Harper’s Ferry by John Brown, three men from Oberlin participated.

 Oberlin College was also well known for the women who graduated from the college and participated in the suffrage and prohibition movements. Lucy Stone, considered a pioneer for the women’s movement, graduated from Oberlin College in 1847.

 Oberlin was also very well known in the missionary movement of the late 1800s. Between 1860 and 1900, 90% of missionaries sent overseas by the American Missionary Society were graduates of Oberlin College. Between 1899 and 1901, thirteen missionaries from Oberlin were martyred during the Boxer Rebellion of China. An arch in Tappan Square at the center of Oberlin pays honor to their sacrifices.



My Review:

The book was very interesting but hard to read at times. Set during the time when the North and South differ on Slavery. America’s father owns slaves and she trying to convince him to change and no longer own them. She was going to school to be a missionary but after going home on break her father will not let her return to school. The slaves was treated very bad at times, so sad that is a part of our country’s history. It is a very inspirational story though on how Christ can change people and how having Christ in our lives really makes a difference. This is a first book in a series, I am looking forward to reading the next one. 

I received an complementary copy of the book from Celebrate Lit Publishers.





Blog Stops

Giveaway



To celebrate her tour, Tamera is giving away a themed basket with autographed books of Resurrection of Hope, Alice’s Notions, Red Sky Over America, a copy of Uncle Tom’s Cabin (the book is mentioned in the novel) and a copy of Then Sings My Soul (stories about the hymns), plus a $10 Amazon Card!!
Click below to enter. Be sure to comment on this post before you enter to claim 9 extra entries!
 https://promosimple.com/ps/cebb/red-sky-over-america-celebration-tour-giveaway

Points Worth Blog Tour and Giveaway

About the Book Title: Points Worth   Author: D.C. Marino   Genre: Fantasy   Release Date: March 30 For centuries the sma...